Guido, Mr Bean, and XD

Tom Nickel
9 min readApr 30, 2020

Guido has been coming to my guided meditations on mortality since I started them in VR last summer.

People check-in at the meditations, but they talk briefly about what’s up right then, rather than fully introducing themselves.

Guido said he was from Argentina and I liked his gentle voice and accent. Once he mentioned reading Eckhart Tolle.

He made insightful comments. I looked forward to calling on him.

In early March when the virus spread across the world, I started leading guided meditations every day. I focused on what was happening and called them Meditations on Uncertainty.

Guido showed up most of the time. We talked more and I learned that he works as a kind of counselor.

Early in the anxious times of the world wide stop, I began hosting social gatherings with different themes and different VR worlds for every day of the week. Book Clubs and Bereavement places. Neighborhood News from around the world. Friday we have Conversations, hour long talks in front of an audience with someone from the VR community.

My first was Guido.

I was pretty sure we could be interesting to listen to for an hour. The VR world we use for the Conversations is a late night talk show set with a host chair, a couch for guests, and auditorium…

--

--

Tom Nickel

Learning Technologist focusing on VR, Video, and Mortality … producer of Less Than One Minute and 360 degree videos