I Love Sports and Sports Must Die

Tom Nickel
4 min readJul 19, 2020

The NCAA had no choice but to let go of March Madness back at the beginning of the Virus, but it’s having a very difficult time saying goodbye to the college football season, which it will have to do.

Professional Baseball and Basketball are attempting to stage some ridiculous version of the sports experience in a desperate effort to get whatever money is out there to be gotten. Some players are dropping out.

The NFL is delusional, as usual.

They are all corrupt enterprises that perpetuate the value system that has led to a world in disarray.

I Love Sports.

I can recite the starting line-up for the 1957 World Champion Milwaukee Braves, where my career as a sports fan began.

I’ve never lived in Milwaukee. I was a Sports Fan. Right up through the NBA Champion Golden State Warriors, with Steph and Klay, the Splash Brothers.

It is all wrong. Not Steph — Sports. I respect and admire and enjoy Steph Curry as much as any athlete I have ever followed. But he makes too damn much money. It’s wrong.

It’s wrong that major NCAA Universities employ prostitutes to make sure potential sports recruits have a great time during the legally sanctioned visit. It’s wrong that student-athletes produce millions of dollars through…

--

--

Tom Nickel

Learning Technologist focusing on VR, Video, and Mortality … producer of Less Than One Minute and 360 degree videos