Oculus Go for Old People, Part V

Tom Nickel
5 min readMay 19, 2019
Author, still in the Go

Relegated.

Followers of European Football Leagues will be familiar with the idea of being dismissed to a lower level of play. Owners of VR Headsets may not be.

I published Part IV of this series nine months ago, wrote all four Parts in the first three months after purchasing a new $400 thing.

I loved my Oculus GO then. I still do. And I’m about to Relegate it to the Second Division and Replace it with a newcomer said to be better by all early reviewers.

The Oculus Quest.

I’m glad.

Not because I got bored and need an upgrade to regain my attention. Because I got busy, producing 360 video.

I’d been showing people clips on an iPhone jammed into some plastic headset for too long. The Go was a breakthrough. I could finally show immersive video easily and get ‘Oh Wow!s’ just about every time.

Insta360 One X

I am not primarily a VR consumer. I am a producer, but not a fancy one who uses expensive equipment — I make 360 videos with $400 cameras like the Insta360 One X. That’s it and I believe that’s enough. Six K. Get your lighting and camera placement right and you…

--

--

Tom Nickel

Learning Technologist focusing on VR, Video, and Mortality … producer of Less Than One Minute and 360 degree videos