VR Book Club

How to Deepen Your Understanding of a Great Book

Tom Nickel
13 min readDec 20, 2019

When I want to really learn something, I figure out a way to teach other people about it. Face to Face. Online. I’ve used plenty of approaches over the years.

Now I’ve used VR.

Right now, Virtual Reality is an uncrowded Land of Opportunity. It has platforms where anyone can try out their wildest ideas for the cost of an Oculus Go, (as low as $120 on Cyber Monday, 2019).

My latest wild idea was to lead a VR Book Club.

I knew just the book I wanted to make sure I worked on — the Tibetan Book of the Dead. Yes, I’m aware that the book goes by other names as well and I’ll get to that. This is an article about how I led a VR Book Club specifically about one of the most esoteric books ever written.

The announcement went up in AltspaceVR early in November, 2019.

VR Book Club.

First Book: The Tibetan Book of the Dead.

First Session: Part One, the Bardo of The Moments of Death.

The Tibetan Book of the Dead

The Tibetan Book of the Dead is an example of Instructional Technology that goes back at least to the…

--

--

Tom Nickel

Learning Technologist focusing on VR, Video, and Mortality … producer of Less Than One Minute and 360 degree videos