vTime XR

Reality Reimagined

Tom Nickel
1 min readOct 31, 2021

First Visit(s) to vTime

July 27, 2018

vTime can work. There is always the potential of an interesting conversation with strangers and the cost of not-finding one is low. It will take more time to learn how to find interesting conversations with strangers reliably.

People feel more free to say what needs to be said — that’s how I relate to the comments about my avatar. I’m guessing that she would not have said that to me if we had been two strangers sitting next to each other at the bar in an Applebees.

Visual cues that might affect interaction by indicating age, ethnicity, gender and more are suppressed, but audio cues matter. Your voice, which may be misleading, is how others will make inferences about who you are.

vTime offers a nice set of spaces, but I can’t play all the media types I want to in them. Maybe I should see what I can do with what they do support instead of going right for my main goal, which is playing my 360 videos in a social space. [read more]

Unlisted

--

--

Tom Nickel

Learning Technologist focusing on VR, Video, and Mortality … producer of Less Than One Minute and 360 degree videos